2014 Patriots Pen Essay

2014-2015 Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest Winners

Posted onNovember 21, 2014, in Academics, Events

James W. Parker Middle School had 12 winners from the VFW Post 740 (Edinboro/McKean) Patriot’s Pen Essay Contest. Each of the following will receive a $400 cash monetary award and advance to the district competition: Nathaniel J. Price, Hannah E. Diley, Mary E. Vincent, Ethan H. Greenleaf, Ryan D. Kulka, Hunter M. Andrzejewski, Leah A. Dubynskiy, Anna P. Damore, Patience J. Makusi, Alayna R. Smith, Aida R. Shadeck and Kaley R. Berger.

Each year more than 100,000 students in grades 6-8 enter the VFW’s Patriot’s Pen youth essay contest. The first-place winner from each state competes to win one of 46 national awards totaling $46,000. The national first-place winner wins $5,000 and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., in March.

The essay contest encourages young minds to examine America’s history, along with their own experiences in modern American society, by drafting a 300- to 400-word essay, expressing their views based on a patriotic theme chosen by the VFW Commander-in-Chief.

In addition, General McLane also had a winner for the 2014-2015 Voice of Democracy Essay Contest (Grades 9-12), Mary C. Cousins. She will receive a $600 cash award and advance to the district competition.

This contest is open each year to nearly 40,000 high school students from across the country, who can win a share of the $2.2 million in educational scholarships and incentives awarded through the VFW’s Voice of Democracy audio-essay competition. The national first-place winner receives a $30,000 scholarship paid directly to the recipient’s American university, college or vocational/technical school. Other national scholarships range from $1,000-$16,000, and the first-place winner from each (State) VFW Department wins an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!



В разговор вмешался новый участник. - Д-директор. Все повернулись к экрану.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *